It’s okay to not know.

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 3.24.47 pm

Plans. Goals. Dreams. All something very common to us and something that society seems to wants us to figure out by the time we finish studying/during our studies. And honestly I have them but they’re not concrete and I don’t have it all sorted yet.

So when came I back to Melbourne for my 2 weeks break before my 3rd and final year starts, I honestly did not expect to get question about what I will do after, what my plans are, whether I’ll stay in Sydney or move back. But oh I was so wrong since everyone I saw and caught up with has asked me that. I was very overwhelmed with it because I don’t know what I’m doing after. I seriously felt like I was failing and was doing this all wrong. It seemed like should have it all sorted out by now and sure of what I want to do. And for some reason, these feelings make me question 3rd year yet again, as I was feeling so unqualified and inadequate. But then I was reminded by God on the journey I’ve been on. I was reminded that I told God I’ll let Him lead me and will do what He wants me to do, even if it’s not what is the norm and what people expect of me.

However this does not mean that I’m going to be passive in my calling and my life and just let God do it all. I’m still going to do my bit and I do have plans for my next few years and a general idea of what I would like to do after college, but what I’m trying to say is that it really just comes down to what God wants me to do. And this is why I was feeling overwhelmed, because even though I have a plan, its not concrete, it might be change and I felt like if I said what I wanted to do, if I didn’t happen that I’ve somehow failed and broke a promise. Knowing God, one year can change a lot of things and a lot can happen, so I’m just letting Him do what He wants and believing that He will show me what to do after. I’m trusting Him to lead me and to guide me, like He always has. I’m going to be flexible and let Him interrupt my plans as I continue to work towards my goals and what I want to do. In my life, I want Him to have the final say. And that is my answer that I’ve come to those questions, and I’m happy and at peace about it.

And all this is to say if you’re still on the journey to figure it out, it’s okay. You don’t need to know it all. Trust God in the process and always follow what He calls you. It’ll always be better. Can’t promise you that it’ll be easier but I can tell you it will always be worth it. Let Him guide you and be your strength and provider in this journey we call life. He is Almighty.

Lots of love, Jasmine xx.

Leave a Reply

